Under Pressure ~ Pressure Cooker Mexican Chicken

1 comment
Chicken, Chickpeas, Cook's Essentials Microwave Pressure Cooker, Dinner, Mexican, Red Gold Tomatoes, Test Kitchen

 

Microwave Pressure Cooker – Round 3 (ignore that.. I think we’re way past that number now.)

Huh… (head scratch) I coulda sworn I did this already. But, in going through and readjusting things for the new layout, I realized I didn’t actually do any of the original cooker tests.

I’m feeling a little like Brian Williams. (meh)

So we’re playing catch up and  getting to those CooksEssentials Microwave Pressure Cooker Tests that  should have been up in September…

Mexican Chicken

Okey dokey – This round I’ve decided to adapt one of the recipes provided with the cooker. I’ll give my changes beside the listed ingredients, underlined

1 – 3 Pound Chicken – In stews, roasts… well, just about anything in chicken pieces, I like to use one cut… be it all thighs, breasts, whatever. One cut of meat will generally cook at the same time, so you never worry about over or under cooking the proteins. This time, there was a sale on fresh-cut (not frozen) chicken legs at the butcher. I’ve substituted 8 Skin-On Chicken Legs.

1 Cup Uncooked Rice – The suggestion was to use par-boiled rice or Arborio (risotto) rice. Since everything is going to cook at the same time, make the effort and go get the risotto rice. It’s a denser structure designed for long cooking and wont fall to pieces in the stew

8 Ounces cooked Black Beans – I didn’t have any. I’ve substituted chick peas because I have them…. and… chick peas are a harder bean that will stand up to the pressure and not turn to mush in the pot. (much like that rice). So, 1 Can Chickpeas with liquid. It may be interesting to note that this is the last of the 2 dozen cans purchased for the beach wedding 3 years ago that I never used.

1/2 Cup Salsa – I’ve substituted 1 Large Green Tomato – Diced,  and 1 Clove Garlic – Chopped.

1 Cup Chicken Stock

1 14 oz Can Diced Tomatoes with Chilis – I’ve used Red/Gold Brand
1 Tablespoon Taco Seasoning… Yeah, if you’ve got it – use it. I don’t usually keep spice blends on hand, so I’ve made my own. It’s basically the same thing. Feel free to use fajita seasoning, if that’s what you have.

1 Tablespoon Lime Zest – I’ve used 3 to 4 Drops Lime Oil, instead.

1/2 Teaspoon each Salt & Pepper

Step 1

Mix the salt, pepper, chicken legs and Taco Seasoning  in a bowl and let mingle until you get the cooker ready

10661829_728145790565801_3130729172714590467_o

Step 2

Place all the rest of the ingredients in the cooker

1912510_728145810565799_3119637446123523787_o

Step 3

Place the marinated chicken on TOP of the liquids

10648227_728145797232467_4727775821948261056_o

Step 4

Seal the cooker, place in the micro and cook on high for 24 minutes. The original recipe uses a whole chicken, so the cooking time was skewed to 40 minutes. For just legs or thighs, it will not be necessary.

After the cooking is finished, Carefully remove from the micro and allow to depressurize naturally.

Mexi Chicken

Serve each person a couple of legs and a spoonful of the mexi-stew in the pot.

Oh, and yeah – it’s slammin‘. Definitely a repeat weeknight meal.

Total Cooking Time:

Prep – 5 Minutes

Marinate – 15 Minutes

Pressure Cook – 24 Minutes

Depressurize – 6 Minutes

Posted by

I cook stuff... I'm a kitchen tool... I am.. - a food guy. - a Restaurant Consultant, - a Kitchen Designer and Remodeler. - a Part-time Landscaper, - an Occasional Caterer, - a very lazy author (or, so my ex-editor says) - Seriously under-employed I have... - eaten things that would probably have been better off in the trash - bungee jumped before it was even considered marginally safe - Thought..really, truly thought.. I would be dead by 30 sheared sheep for fun and personally castrated three of them. - have three novels in varying stages of incompleteness - been crushed by a grand piano. (The piano was undamaged) - been bitten by a chimpanzee - spent an entire night fishing for squid off the coast in Thailand - been the guest of honor at a dinner for reasons I am still unsure of - have a thing about deli meat, in general ... mortadella, specifically

One thought on “Under Pressure ~ Pressure Cooker Mexican Chicken”

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Fodder – Testing the CooksEssentials 4.5 Qt Microwave Pressure Cooker | Plate Fodder

Comment fodder - Pile on!

